How to get mediation money? Can I go back and return it? Breaking through the traps of 5 mediation money and letter of offer

斡旋金、要約書法律陷阱cover
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
When buying and selling houses, you must often hear such words as "mediation fee" and "offer letter", but you don't know what legal effect the mediation fee and offer letter have? In fact, the mediation fee and the letter of offer are common disputes in real estate transactions. This article will explain and compare the concepts of the mediation fee and the letter of offer, and solve the hidden legal traps one by one.

What is mediation money?

If the buyer has already selected the house he likes, when he is ready to negotiate with the seller, he can pay a "mediation fee" first, and then sign a "mediation form" stating the bid amount to show the sincerity of the purchase.

After receiving the mediation money, the real estate agent will keep it on his behalf and start negotiating with the seller. If the seller agrees to the buyer's bid, the mediation money will be converted into a deposit and handed over to the seller for collection.

The purpose of the "mediation deposit" is to ensure that both the buyer and the seller are obliged to complete the transaction. If the buyer regrets not buying after making an order, the deposit will be confiscated by the seller. Conversely, if the seller regrets not selling, the deposit must be refunded twice. And if the house is successfully sold in the end, the deposit will be counted as part of the house price, which is equivalent to an advance payment, and the buyer only needs to make up the remaining amount.

Further reading:Pre-sale house sales|Instructions for house viewing and contract signing, builder selection and dispute resolution

(1) How much is the reasonable amount of mediation money?

The amount or proportion of the mediation fee is not mandatory, but in general transaction practices, the amount of the mediation fee usually falls within 2%-5% of the total house price, or a fixed amount is directly charged, about 100,000-500,000 yuan.

(2) What is a "Bill of Good Offices"?

After paying the mediation fee, don’t forget to ask the real estate agent for a “mediation form”, and write down three major information on the mediation form: “the mediation period, the amount of the mediation fee, and the price for buying the house”, which should be signed by the buyer and the real estate agent.

The mediation form may also be called "mediation contract, mediation money receipt, bid deposit receipt, letter of intent for housing sales bid, housing sales appointment letter", no matter what the name is, the nature and meaning are the same. The key points of requesting a mediation list are:

  1. As a receipt, it proves that the buyer has indeed paid the mediation money to the real estate agent.
  2. Indicate the bid amount to avoid errors in the negotiation between the real estate agent and the seller, which may lead to transaction disputes.

(3) Does the mediation bill have legal effect?

Although there is no such word as "good offices/good offices" in the law, the mediation money/good offices are still legally effective. The opinion of most courts is that once the seller agrees to the bid and the mediation deposit is transferred to the deposit, it is equivalent to establishing the concept of "reservation".

Appointment means that the buyer and the seller have reached a consensus on the key conditions of the contract (such as housing and price), and only keep the details for discussion (such as payment method, delivery deadline, etc.). to ensure that both parties have the obligation to conclude this agreement in the future.

(4) Can I go back on my word after mediating? Can the mediation money be refunded?

The "mediation fee" is refundable, while the "deposit" is non-refundable. The mediation money can be refunded unconditionally in the following two situations:

  • The mediation period ended, and the negotiation failed
  • The buyer rushes to withdraw the mediation before the seller agrees

Generally speaking, the time limit for mediation and negotiation will be noted on the mediation form, which is usually 3-10 days. If the real estate agent fails to complete the negotiation with the seller within this period, the real estate agent must return the mediation fee unconditionally.

During the mediation and negotiation period, as long as the seller has not agreed to the bid, the mediation deposit has not been converted into a deposit, and the buyer can repent at any time. Therefore, if the buyer changes his mind after mediation, he must notify the real estate agent to stop bargaining as soon as possible, so that the mediation fee can be refunded.


What is an offer for sale of a house?

If the buyer has the sincerity to buy the house but does not want to pay the mediation fee, he can also use the "Housing Sale Offer" instead. The offer will specify the buyer's intention to purchase the house and the bid amount. If the seller accepts the price, he needs to sign the offer to express his consent.

(1) Which is better, the letter of offer or the mediation money?

The advantage of using the offer letter is that the buyer will not get stuck in a cash flow during the negotiation stage, and there is no need to worry about the poor-quality real estate agent who will mediate the money and escape. However, in terms of actual trading habits, many people still believe that the mediation fee can better demonstrate the sincerity of the purchase than the offer letter, and may affect the seller's willingness to accept the bargaining price.

comparison-of-earnest-money-and-offer-letter

(2) Does the housing sale offer have legal effect?

The opinion of most courts is that the content of the offer letter is only the scope of the house and the price to be drawn up in advance, and the rest of the sales conditions have not yet reached a consensus, and at most it has the nature of an "appointment" rather than the original contract of the house sale.

In the Ministry of the Interior version of the "Notes for Signing an Offer", it is also clearly stated that the offer is an appointment. Therefore, after signing the offer, both the buyer and the seller are obliged to continue negotiating and signing the contract.

(3) Can I go back on my word after signing the offer? Is there any liquidated damages in the offer?

The offer letter, like the mediation form, will indicate the effective negotiation period. During this period, as long as the seller has not agreed to bid, the buyer can withdraw the offer at will. If the offer is not successfully negotiated by the end of the period, the offer letter will automatically become invalid.

As long as the seller agrees to the bid within the negotiation period, the letter of offer will formally have the nature of an appointment, and at this time, any party who reneges will constitute a breach of contract.

Usually, the offer letter provided by the real estate agent will stipulate the calculation method of liquidated damages, most of which fall around 3% of the total bid price. Therefore, although the offer letter does not collect mediation money in advance, the final liquidated damages may even be higher than the mediation money. However, there are also offers that do not stipulate the amount of compensation for breach of contract at all. In this case, the consumer and the real estate agent can negotiate and add it as needed.


Common Legal Pitfalls of Mediation Fees and Letters of Offer

The following is a compilation of the most frequently asked questions about housing bargaining by customers for reference. Before paying mediation money and signing an offer, be sure to pay attention to these hidden pitfalls to avoid legal disputes.

(1) The real estate agent said that a certain percentage of service fees should be deducted first for mediation?

it's not true.

If the real estate agent receives mediation money or deposit, it can only be kept on behalf of them. If it needs to be confiscated or refunded in the end, it will be paid in full. Regardless of the mediation money or deposit, it is not a remuneration for the real estate agent!

In addition, it is also incorrect if the real estate agent asks to deduct expenses such as travel expenses and handling fees from the mediation fee. It is suggested that the buyer can directly state on the mediation form the deadline for refunding the mediation fee after the negotiation fails, and no excuses shall be made to deduct any expenses .

As for the remuneration of the real estate agent, it depends on how the two parties signed the entrustment contract with the real estate agent. In principle, they are paid separately, so they will not be directly deducted from the mediation money that the buyer requests to return.

(2) The seller says that he has received the deposit/signed the offer, which means that the house sales contract is established. If the buyer goes back on his word, he needs to compensate the transaction loss of the total house price. Is this true?

Accepting and signing the offer letter only represents an appointment transaction, and does not mean that the sales contract has been established.

Normally, the nature of the deposit and the letter of offer is an appointment. In the appointment, both parties only have the "obligation to sign this agreement" rather than the "obligation to perform the transaction." Therefore, when either party repents and refuses to sign the contract, although the other party can request liquidated damages or damages, it cannot enforce the transaction and requires payment of the full price or transfer of ownership of the house, because the formal sales contract has not yet been concluded.

Tips for lawyers: How to divide the appointment and the contract?

Whether a contract is an appointment or a contract depends mainly on whether the agreed items are detailed.

Assuming that in addition to the key points of the transaction, even the details of the contract are complete, and both parties have the intention to perform the transaction directly according to the content of the contract, even if it is called an appointment, the court may still determine it to be a contract according to its nature. Since this agreement is established, both parties are obliged to complete the transaction in accordance with the agreed items.

However, due to the large amount of housing transactions, both parties to the contract will be very cautious, and usually do not directly list all the detailed conditions on the offer letter/mediation form, so the situation of "reservation is regarded as the agreement" is extremely rare in housing transactions.

(3) It is said on the Internet that the "deposit" is refundable and the "deposit" is non-refundable. Is it true? Is there any difference between a deposit and a deposit?

There is no difference between "deposit" and "deposit" in Taiwanese laws and regulations.

It is said on the Internet that the deposit has a guarantee nature, and the deposit is only an advance payment, so the deposit is refundable and the deposit is not refundable, but this statement is only applicable in mainland China.

In terms of Taiwanese law, all legal articles are currently referred to as "deposit", but it doesn't matter if people write "deposit", and it will not directly affect the legal effect. The opinion of most courts is that whether the deposit/deposit has the nature of guarantee and whether it can be refunded should still be based on respecting the true meaning of the parties to the contract, and should not be limited to the words used.

(4) Will the offer be invalid if the buyer voluntarily waives the review period for the offer?

Whether it is invalid or not depends on the situation.

In accordance with the provisions of the Consumer Protection Law, the review period for the housing sales offer is at least 3 days. However, in actual operation, in order to seize the opportunity and avoid cumbersome procedures, many transaction parties often adopt the method of "backdating" to make the offer letter look legal in form, but this method is prone to controversy.

Most courts believe that if the real estate agent fails to give the buyer sufficient time to review the terms before and after signing the contract, and prompts the buyer to sign the contract with the review period reversed, this will violate the review period provisions of the finalized contract, and the finalized clause will not constitute an offer the content of the book. However, if the offer includes, in addition to the finalized clauses, "customized" clauses revised by the buyer, these customized clauses will not be affected by the review period, so the offer may not be invalid in its entirety.

Conversely, there is also a case ruling that if the real estate broker does give the buyer the opportunity to review, and the buyer has actually reviewed the content of the contract, or knowing that he has the right to review but still voluntarily waives it, then based on the principle of good faith, the buyer can reverse the contract at this time. Waiver of the review period by date will not invalidate the offer.

(5) How to prevent unscrupulous realtors from defrauding mediation funds?

A small number of unscrupulous real estate agents will falsely claim that the seller has already made an offer when the buyer withdraws the mediation, so as to embezzle the mediation money that should have been refunded to the buyer. There are opportunities to prevent this problem by:

  • Choose to cooperate with real estate agents with legal business licenses.
  • Before withdrawing the mediation, first inquire about the bargaining status in a way that can leave a record, such as a message, and make a withdrawal after confirming that the seller has not made a bid.
  • The buyer can indicate on the mediation form that if the seller agrees to bid, the real estate agent must notify the buyer within a certain period of time.
  • If the real estate agent indicates that the seller has accepted the bid, the buyer can ask the real estate agent to provide a mediation form signed by the seller or other relevant certificates.

Have you encountered legal issues related to housing sales? Welcome to join First Law Official LINE and discuss with us!

加入好友
contact now

Don't worry about legal problems, welcome to discuss with us online through the official LINE, we are happy to listen to your ideas and provide you with the fastest and most effective assistance when you need it.

加入好友

Please rest assured that online inquiry is completely free, and all conversations and transmitted materials will be strictly confidential.

popular articles
Scroll to Top

斡旋金怎麼下?能反悔退回嗎?破解5大斡旋金、要約書的陷阱

斡旋金、要約書法律陷阱cover
分享 facebook
分享 twitter
分享 email
買賣房屋的時候一定常常聽到「斡旋金」、「要約書」這樣的字眼,但卻不清楚斡旋金、要約書究竟在法律上有什麼效力嗎?其實斡旋金與要約書都是房屋買賣常見的爭議點,本文將分別說明比較斡旋金與要約書的概念,並一一破解潛藏其中的法律陷阱。

斡旋金是什麼?

如果買方已經選定了中意的房屋,準備和賣方議價時,可以先支付一筆「斡旋金」,便並簽署「斡旋單」載明出價金額,以展現購買的誠意。

房仲收到斡旋金後會先代為保管,並開始和賣方議價,如果賣方同意買方的出價,斡旋金就會轉為定金,交賣方收取。

「斡旋轉定金」的用意在確保買賣雙方都有義務完成交易,假設買方下定後反悔不買,定金就由賣方沒收,反之,若是賣方反悔不出售,則須退還2倍定金。而若最後房屋順利成交,定金就算入房屋價金的一部分,相當於預付款,買方接下來只需把剩餘金額補足即可。

延伸閱讀:預售屋買賣|看屋簽約須知、建商選擇與糾紛處理

(一)斡旋金的金額多少合理?

斡旋金的金額或比例沒有強制規定,但在一般交易習慣上,斡旋金的金額通常落在房屋總價的2%-5%,或者直接收取固定金額,大約10萬-50萬元。

(二)什麼是「斡旋單」?

支付斡旋金後,別忘了和房仲業者索取「斡旋單」,並在斡旋單上註記「斡旋期間、斡旋金的金額、購屋出價多少」三大資訊,由買方與房仲共同簽名。

斡旋單也可能被稱為「斡旋契約、斡旋金收據、出價保證金收據、房屋買賣出價意向書、房屋買賣預約書」,不論名稱為何,性質與意義都是相同的。索取斡旋單的重點在於:

  1. 作為收據,證明買方確實有交付斡旋金給房仲。
  2. 載明出價金額,避免房仲和賣方回報議價時有誤差,導致交易糾紛。

(三)斡旋單有法律效力嗎?

雖然法律上沒有明文出現「斡旋金/斡旋單」這樣的字眼,但斡旋金/斡旋單仍然是具有產生法律效力的。多數法院見解認為,一旦賣方同意出價、斡旋金轉定金,相當於成立「預約」的概念。

預約是指買賣雙方對契約的重點條件(如房屋、價款)已經達成共識,僅保留細節事項待商議(如付款方式、交屋期限等),此時就可以先成立「預約」來獲得法律上的拘束力,確保雙方都有在未來訂立本約的義務。

(四)下斡旋以後可以反悔嗎?斡旋金能不能退回?

「斡旋金」是可以退的,不能退的是「定金」。以下兩種情況都可以無條件退回斡旋金:

  • 斡旋期間截止,未能成功議價
  • 買方搶在賣方同意前撤回斡旋

一般而言,斡旋單上會註記斡旋議價的期限,通常是3-10天,如果在此期間內房仲沒有和賣方完成議價,房仲就必須無條件退還斡旋金。

在斡旋議價期間內,只要賣方還沒同意出價,斡旋金就還沒轉為定金,買方也都可以隨時反悔不買。因此買方下斡旋後如果改變心意,務必及早通知房仲停止議價,才能退回斡旋金。


房屋買賣要約書是什麼?

如果買方有誠意購屋但不想支付斡旋金,也可以用「房屋買賣要約書」來取代。要約書上會載明買方購買房屋的意思表示,以及出價金額,如果賣方接受此價格,便需在要約書上簽名表示同意。

(一)要約書、斡旋金哪個好?

使用要約書的好處是買方不會在議價階段先卡住一筆現金流,也無須擔心遇到劣質房仲將斡旋金捲款逃跑。但在實際的交易習慣上,仍有不少人認為斡旋金比要約書更能夠彰顯購買誠意,可能影響賣方接受議價的意願。

comparison-of-earnest-money-and-offer-letter

(二)房屋買賣要約書有法律效力嗎?

多數法院見解認為,要約書內容僅對房屋、價金的範圍先行擬定,其餘買賣條件則尚未達成共識,至多具有「預約」性質,而非房屋買賣契約本約。

在內政部版的「要約書簽約注意事項」中,也明確表達要約書屬於預約,因此買賣雙方簽署要約書後,都負有繼續協商簽訂本約的義務。

(三)簽訂要約書後可以反悔嗎?要約書有無違約賠償?

要約書與斡旋單一樣,會註明有效的議價期間,在此期間內,只要賣方尚未同意出價,買方都可以任意撤回要約,若期間截止仍未成功議價,要約書便會自動失效。

只要在議價期間內賣方同意出價,要約書就正式具備預約的性質,此時任一方反悔都將構成違約。

通常房仲業者提供的要約書上都會約定違約賠償的計算方式,多數落在總出價的3%左右,因此要約書雖沒有預收斡旋金,但最終的違約賠償甚至可能比斡旋金還高。但也有要約書完全未約定違約賠償金額,此時便可以由消費者和房仲商議後視需要進行增補。


常見斡旋金與要約書的法律陷阱

以下整理客戶最常詢問的房屋議價問題供參考,在下斡旋金、簽要約書前,務必留意這些潛藏的陷阱,以免發生法律爭議。

(一)房仲說退斡旋要先扣除一定比例的服務費?

並非如此。

房仲如果收到斡旋金或定金,都只能代為保管,最終如需沒收或退還,也都是全額交付,不論斡旋金或定金都不是給房仲業者的報酬喔!

除此之外,如果房仲要求在斡旋金中扣除車馬費、手續費等支出,也是不正確的,建議買方可以直接在斡旋單上載明議價失敗後退斡旋金的期限,以及不得藉故扣除任何支出。

至於房仲業者的報酬,則視雙方各自和房仲簽訂的委託契約如何約定,原則上都是另外支付,因此不會直接從買方請求退回的斡旋金中扣除。

(二)賣方說已收定金/已簽要約書就表示房屋買賣契約成立,如買方反悔就需賠償房屋總價的交易損失,是這樣嗎?

收定、簽要約書只代表預約交易,不代表買賣契約已經成立。

正常來說,定金和要約書的性質屬於預約,在預約中雙方只負有「簽訂本約的義務」而非「履行交易的義務」。因此任一方反悔拒絕簽訂本約時,他方雖可請求違約金或損害賠償,但無法強制履行交易,要求給付全額價金或過戶房屋,因為正式的買賣契約根本尚未訂立。

律師小提醒:預約、本約怎麼分?

一份契約屬於預約還是本約,主要判斷標準在約定事項是否詳盡。

假設契約除了交易重點外,就連細部事項也都十分完備,且雙方都有直接按照所約內容履行交易的意思時,就算名為預約,法院還是可能根據其性質認定屬於本約。而本約既然成立,雙方便有義務按照所約事項完成交易。

不過因為房屋買賣的金額較大,契約雙方都會非常謹慎,通常不會直接在要約書/斡旋單上列舉完所有細節條件,因此「預約視為本約」的情況在房屋交易上極為罕見。

(三)網傳「訂金」可退,「定金」不可退,是真的嗎?訂金、定金到底有沒有差別?

「定金」、「訂金」在台灣法規上是沒有差別的。

網傳定金具有擔保性質,訂金則僅是預收款,因此訂金可退,定金不可退,但這個說法其實只在中國大陸地區適用。

以台灣法律而言,法條目前一律以「定金」稱呼,不過民眾就算寫成「訂金」也沒有關係,不會直接影響法律效力。多數法院見解認為,有關定金/訂金是否具有擔保性質、能不能退還,還是要尊重契約當事人的真意為準,不能拘泥於用字。

(四)買方自願放棄要約書的審閱期,會使要約書無效嗎?

是否無效需視狀況而定。

配合消保法規定,房屋買賣要約書的審閱期至少3天。不過實際運作上,許多交易當事人為了把握時機、避免程序繁瑣,常常採用「倒填日期」的方式,讓要約書形式上看起來合法,但這個做法容易產生爭議。

多數法院見解認為,若房仲業者在簽約前後並未給予買方充分的時間審閱條款,就促使買方倒填審閱期簽約,此舉將違反定型化契約的審閱期規定,定型化條款將不構成要約書的內容。但如果要約書除了定型化條款以外,還有買方自行修訂的「客製化」條款,這些客製化條款並不會受到審閱期影響,因此要約書不一定整份無效。

反之,也有個案判決認為,如果房仲業者確實有給予買方審閱的機會,買方事實上也審閱過契約內容,或明知自己有審閱權但仍自願放棄,那麼基於誠信原則,買方此時以倒填日期的方式放棄審閱期就不會造成要約書無效。

(五)如何防止不肖房仲騙走斡旋金?

少數不肖房仲會在買方撤回斡旋時,謊稱賣方已經出價,藉此侵吞本應退回買方的斡旋金。這個問題有機會透過以下方式來防止:

  • 選擇具有合法營業執照的房仲業者合作。
  • 撤回斡旋前,先以訊息等可以留下紀錄的方式詢問議價狀況,確認賣方尚未出價後再提出撤回。
  • 買方可在斡旋單上註明,如賣方同意出價,房仲必須於一定期限內通知買方。
  • 如房仲表示賣方已接受出價,買方可請房仲提供經賣方簽署的斡旋單或其他相關證明。

您有遇到房屋買賣相關法律問題嗎?歡迎加入第一法律官方LINE和我們一起討論!

加入好友
即刻聯絡

遇到法律問題別擔心,歡迎透過官方LINE和我們線上討論,我們樂意傾聽您的想法,在您有需要時提供您最快速有效的協助。

加入好友

請放心,線上詢問完全免費,所有對話內容與傳遞的資料都將受到嚴格保密。

熱門文章
回到頂端