How to write a franchise contract? Pay attention to 3 major problems, do not step on thunder when starting a business

加盟合約cover
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
How to join a business without losing money? Regardless of whether you are an enterprise that wants to open up franchise and investment promotion, or an individual owner who wants to join the brand system, you must be cautious and cautious when signing a franchise contract and negotiating franchise conditions. For the comparison of various franchise types, the 7 must-knows and 3 common legal issues in the franchise contract, please refer to this article.

Know to join

Franchising is a highly efficient business model. The business headquarters provides authorization and guidance to allow individual operators to join chain stores operating the same brand. The advantage of joining is that it can make use of the brand's existing reputation and business policy, so that individual operators do not have to start from scratch when opening a store, reducing the cost of self-employment and learning.

Taiwan's famous franchise chain business system includes "Bafang Yunji", "Wu Tao Chi Shang Bento", "Don't Scream at Me" and so on.

At the legal level, the franchise relationship is clearly defined in the "Fair Trade Commission's Handling Principles for Franchise Owners' Business Behavior Cases" (hereinafter referred to as "Fair Trade Franchise Handling Principles"). It is a continuing relationship in which the franchise store pays a certain price for the use of the franchise store, and assists or guides the operation of the franchise store. However, it does not include the simple purchase of goods or services (hereinafter referred to as goods) at or below the wholesale price for resale or lease.


4type of affiliation

As far as Asia is concerned, franchising can usually be divided into four types: voluntary franchising, franchising, entrusted franchising and cooperative franchising.

(one)Voluntary to join

Voluntary franchising means that individual operators voluntarily join the brand system to open franchise stores, and pay the franchise fee to the headquarters on a regular basis. Franchisees are responsible for their own profits and losses.

In voluntary franchise, franchise stores have equal status with headquarters, have greater management autonomy and profit space, and relatively need to bear most of the preparation and operating costs.

(two)Franchise

Franchising is equivalent to the franchise authorized by the headquarters to operate franchise stores. The stores of franchise stores are still owned by individual operators, but they need to be operated and managed according to the guidance of the headquarters. Therefore, franchise operators need to prepare their own general management and sales expenses such as store, decoration, and employee salaries. , as for the business policy, special equipment, signs and other brand-specific financial tools provided by the headquarters.

Usually franchising operators need to pay a one-time franchise fee to the headquarters to obtain trademark authorization, education and training and other preparations for opening a store in the initial stage.

(three)Entrust to join

Entrusted franchise means that the headquarters entrusts the branches to individual operators. The headquarters will bear most of the preparatory expenses, including store rent, decoration, equipment, trademark rights, business guidance and marketing activities, etc. The franchise store usually only needs to bear the personnel costs and one-time costs. Sexual membership fee. The ownership of the entrusted franchise stores belongs to the headquarters, so the profits of the franchise stores must be turned over first, and then the headquarters will share the profits according to the agreed proportion.

(Four)Cooperation to join

Compared with other types of franchising, cooperative franchising, in turn, is based on franchise stores, and many companies of the same nature organize their own headquarters in order to reduce costs by uniformly purchasing goods, jointly hold advertising and marketing activities, and even recruit more companies to join in.

Because the headquarters is co-founded by the business owners, they generally do not provide business guidance. In addition to being responsible for their own profits and losses, most franchisees only need to pay the headquarters' trademark royalties, or share the operating expenses of the headquarters. There are rare problems of profit distribution, such as Relationships with industry chambers or wholesalers/retailers.

 Voluntary to joinFranchiseEntrust to joinCooperation to join
Storefront and decoration expensesFranchise storeFranchise storeheadquartersFranchise store
Operating Equipment ExpensesFranchise storeheadquartersheadquartersFranchise store
personnel costFranchise storeFranchise storeFranchise storeFranchise store
Headquarters business guidanceHaveHaveHavenone
Marketing activities coordinationFranchise storeheadquartersheadquartersheadquarters
Membership payment methodRegular quotaDisposableDisposableDisposable
The usual profit sharing modelno commissionfixed ratioThe proportion of the commission fluctuates with the turnoverno commission
autonomous spaceBigCh-TWSmallBig
Join at your own costmanyCh-TWfewmany

Attorney's Note:

Many people will translate the English Voluntary Chain (free chain) into voluntary joining, but Voluntary Chain is actually not the same as the voluntary joining mentioned in this article. Voluntary Chain (Freedom Chain) is a common joint purchase and distribution model for small and medium-sized enterprises in Europe and the United States. It refers to the joint purchase of multiple stores in the same industry to jointly purchase goods upstream. Conceptually, it is closer to our so-called cooperative alliance.


What expenses does it cost to join a store?

The following has sorted out the expenses that can be required to join the store, from signing the contract to the operation, so as to facilitate the evaluation of the operators who are willing to join.

  • Franchise fee: paid to the headquarters in exchange for business guidance and brand authorization.
    • Premium
    • store opening reserve
    • Education and training fees
    • ad spend
  • Store rent: Depending on the type of franchise, the headquarters and franchise stores will have different rent allocation methods.
  • Decoration engineering: refers to the infrastructure required for general storefronts, such as water and electricity lines, floors, paints, etc.
  • Equipment and appliances: Refers to the tools for making money with brand characteristics, such as commodity shelves, freezers, counters, signboards, production instruments, etc. of specified specifications.
  • Commodity raw materials, consumables
  • employee salary
  • Hydropower and energy expenditure

What do you need to know before joining a store?

In the "Fair Club Franchise Handling Principles", 7 important conditions are specifically listed, requiring the headquarters to inform interested operators in advance, so that franchise operators can have sufficient information to make correct assessments and judgments when signing contracts.

(one)Headquarters must provide7big key information

The following matters are listed in the "Fair Club Franchise Handling Principles". For the sake of prudence, they are usually included in the terms of the franchise contract.

1. Expenditure items before starting operations

Such as franchise fee, education and training fee, commodity/raw material/consumables fee, equipment fee or rent, decoration project expenditure, etc.

2. Expenses during the joining period

Such as the method of calculation and collection of royalties, as well as business guidance and marketing promotion expenses, commodity/raw material/consumables expenses, etc.

3. Intellectual property authorization conditions

Include the title of the right, scope of use, duration and other restrictions.

4. Management guidance and education and training

Contents and methods of management assistance and training guidance.

5. Business market segmentation

Refers to the business plan or predetermined plan of setting up the same franchise system in the business area where the franchise store is located.

6. Operating conditions and restrictions during the franchise period

For example:

  • The designated purchase channel, brand, specification, minimum purchase quantity, price, etc. of commodities or raw materials.
  • Designated purchase access and specifications for capital equipment.
  • Designated builder and specifications for decoration works.

7. Conditions and handling methods for the modification, termination and cancellation of the franchise contract.

(two)Information provision method

Headquarters can provide the above 7 items of information to franchised stores through paper, email, electronic storage devices, social media or communication software.

It should be noted that if there is a dispute in this part, the burden of proof will fall on the headquarters, and the headquarters needs to prove that it has indeed provided information.


How to write a franchise contract? Notice3big problem

The franchise conditions of each chain system are different, so the content of the franchise contract often must be customized according to the needs of individual cases, and special attention should be paid to the three major issues of price cutting competition, non-compete prohibition, and contract renewal conditions.

(one)How to deal with the competition of price cuts in franchise stores?

Business headquarters often do not want franchisees to compete with each other to undermine market conditions, and often specify clauses such as "the sales price of goods shall not be lower than the recommended selling price of the headquarters" in the franchise contract. Area.

1. Is the suggested selling price in the franchise contract valid?

If there is a suggested selling price in the franchise contract, you should pay attention to whether the nature of the suggested selling price is mandatory.

  • Soft suggested selling price

The soft suggested selling price is really purely a suggestion, only for the reference of the franchise store, and it is in compliance with the law.

  • Hard suggested selling price

If the suggested selling price clause is accompanied by a penalty for breach of contract, which stipulates that if the franchisee fails to abide by it, it will be required to pay compensation or be punished by the headquarters. , and cause the business headquarters to be punished by the Fair Society.

2. Is it legal for franchise stores to cut prices?

Article 20 of the Fair Trade Law stipulates that "an enterprise shall not use low-price inducements or other improper methods to prevent competitors from participating in or engaging in competition". When judging illegal price-cutting competition, factors such as whether the market share of franchise stores is sufficient to affect market competition, the cost of purchasing goods, the length of time for low-price sales, and whether there are any legitimate reasons will be considered. is too short), or jump-off auctions (with justifiable reasons) in which the immediate products are cleared generally do not constitute illegal price-cutting competition.

3. How does the headquarters prevent franchise stores from cutting prices?

If you want to avoid the problem of limiting the resale price, the common practice is to change to the "consignment" model, or the headquarters only provide raw materials, and then the franchise stores make their own finished products.

In the consignment model, the headquarters retains the ownership of the goods, and the franchise stores only sell on behalf of the headquarters, which is not a "resale". However, the consignment model also has shortcomings. Because the sales representative is the headquarters, the responsibility for the relevant product defects or transaction disputes is also borne by the headquarters. In addition, it is not directly recognized by the law that the consignment is stated in the contract. Judgment shall prevail.

In addition to consignment sales, the headquarters can also only supply raw materials, and then the franchise stores can produce finished products according to the process instructed by the headquarters. At this time, the finished product and the raw material are no longer the same product, and naturally there is no problem of resale. However, using this method will easily lead to inconsistent quality of the products produced by each franchise store, which will affect the brand reputation.

(two)Is it possible to agree to a non-compete after the end of the franchise?

In the process of guiding franchise stores, the headquarters will inevitably need to disclose business secrets and knowhow to franchise stores. In order to prevent franchise stores from using these knowledge and technologies to compete with headquarters in the future, many franchise contracts contain special clauses that prohibit non-compete. After the end of the franchise contract, the store owner creates another brand at the original location of the store and continues to operate the business of the same nature.

Regarding the validity of the non-compete clause in the franchise contract, the court has clear review standards. An effective non-compete clause in the franchise contract must meet the following 4 conditions:

  • The headquarters must have business secrets specially protected in accordance with the non-compete.
  • Franchisees need to know the business secrets of the opening due to their positions.
  • The object, period, region, and scope of professional activities that restrict franchisees from continuing to operate similar businesses must not exceed a reasonable range (it is also necessary to consider whether franchisees have difficulties in relocating their businesses).
  • Compensation measures are required to compensate for the damage suffered by the franchisee due to the non-compete.

If the above conditions are not met, the non-compete clause in the franchise contract is likely to become "invalid", and the franchise store may not abide by the terms of this part, which may easily lead to other disputes.

(three)How to evaluate the renewal conditions of the franchise contract?

At present, the law does not mandate that the franchise contract must write the renewal conditions. From the standpoint of the headquarters, it is often hoped to retain the right to agree to whether to renew the contract, so as to screen out the franchise stores whose business conditions do not meet expectations. In just one or two years of joining, the company has paid for itself.

1. Who decides whether to renew the contract?

Renewal is not a unilateral right. Although some franchise contracts are marked as "renewed in advance with the consent of both parties", this is actually not complete, because if the headquarters insists on disagreeing, the franchise store may also resort to legal channels, claiming that the headquarters abuses its rights. In order to reduce disputes, many franchise contracts will be changed to stipulate the "renewal threshold". As long as the business performance of the franchise store reaches the threshold, the franchise owner shall not arbitrarily refuse the renewal request of the franchise store, thereby achieving a two-way guarantee.

2. How to write the franchise renewal clause?

When renewing the contract, it is recommended to discuss matters such as whether the conditions of the previous contract are compared, whether the headquarters has the right to change the reservation conditions, whether the franchise store needs to re-pay the franchise fee, and how long in advance the renewal request needs to be made. .

3. Can the headquarters deliberately not renew the contract?

A few brand headquarters saw the outstanding performance of franchise stores, so they chose not to renew their contracts maliciously, and took back the stores and set up direct-operated branches. This kind of behavior may make the headquarters constitute "abuse of rights" stipulated in Article 148 of the Civil Code. If the brand system has an overwhelming position in the market and reaches the standard of exclusive business, the malicious failure of the headquarters to renew the contract may also constitute the "Fair Trade Law". Article 9 "Abuse of Market Position".

Simple judgment criteria for monopoly business:

  • One business has a market share of 1/2, and the total sales amount in the previous fiscal year has reached the standard announced by the competent authority.
  • The two businesses have a combined market share of 2/3, of which individual businesses have a market share of 1/10, and the total sales amount in the previous fiscal year has reached the standard announced by the competent authority.
  • The three businesses have a combined market share of 3/4, of which individual businesses have a market share of 1/10, and the total sales amount in the previous fiscal year has reached the standard announced by the competent authority.

Need to write and review the franchise agreement on your behalf? If you have any legal issues related to joining entrepreneurship, please join the official LINE of the first law to discuss with us!

加入好友
contact now

Don't worry about legal problems, welcome to discuss with us online through the official LINE, we are happy to listen to your ideas and provide you with the fastest and most effective assistance when you need it.

加入好友

Please rest assured that online inquiry is completely free, and all conversations and transmitted materials will be strictly confidential.

popular articles
Scroll to Top

加盟合約怎麼寫?注意3大問題,創業開店不踩雷

加盟合約cover
分享 facebook
分享 twitter
分享 email
加盟創業如何才不會倒賠?不論您是想要開放加盟招商的企業,還是想要加入品牌體系的個人業主,在簽訂加盟合約、協商加盟條件時,都必須謹慎再謹慎。有關各種加盟型態的比較,和加盟合約7大必知事項與3大常見法律問題,歡迎參考本文說明。

認識加盟

加盟是一種極具效率的商業模式,由事業總部提供授權和指導,讓個別業者加入經營同一品牌的連鎖店。加盟的優點是可利用品牌既有的聲望和經營方針,讓個別業者在開店時不必從零做起,減少自行創業學習的成本。

台灣著名的加盟連鎖事業體系包括「八方雲集」、「悟饕池上便當」、「不要對我尖叫」等。

法律層面上,加盟關係在《公平交易委員會對於加盟業主經營行為案件之處理原則》(下稱《公平會加盟處理原則》)中有明確定義,指加盟業主透過契約之方式,將商標或經營技術等授權加盟店使用,並協助或指導加盟店之經營,而加盟店對此支付一定對價之繼續性關係。但不包括單純以相當或低於批發價購買商品或服務(以下簡稱商品)再為轉售或出租等情形。


4種加盟型態

以亞洲地區而言,加盟通常可以分為自願加盟、特許加盟、委託加盟與合作加盟四種型態。

()自願加盟

自願加盟是個別業者主動加入品牌體系開設加盟店,定期定額向總部繳交加盟金,總部則提供加盟店商標權利和經營指導,但原則上不干涉也不抽成加盟店的獲利,完全由加盟店自負盈虧責任。

自願加盟中,加盟店地位與總部平等,有較大管理自主權與獲利空間,相對也需承擔絕大部分籌備和營運成本。

()特許加盟

特許加盟相當於總部特別授予加盟店經營權,加盟店的店鋪仍歸個別業者所有,但需按照總部的指導來經營管理,因此特許加盟業者需自行準備店鋪、裝潢、員工薪資等一般管銷費用,至於經營方針、專用設備、招牌等具有品牌特色的生財工具則由總部提供。

通常特許加盟業者在初期需支付一次性的加盟金給總部來取得商標授權、教育訓練等開店準備工作,正式營運後,總部也會依固定比例抽成加盟店的利潤。

()委託加盟

委託加盟是總部將分店委託給個別業者經營,總部會負擔大部分的籌備支出,包括店面租金、裝潢、設備、商標權利、經營指導與行銷活動等費用,加盟店通常僅需負擔人事成本和一次性加盟金。委託加盟店鋪所有權歸屬於總部,因此加盟店的獲利需先上繳,再由總部根據約定比例分潤

()合作加盟

相較於其他加盟型態,合作加盟反過來以加盟店為本,由眾多同性質的業者自行組織總部,以求統一進貨壓低成本、共同舉辦廣告行銷活動,甚至招募更多業者參與加盟。

因為總部就是業者們合作創立的,一般不會再提供經營指導,加盟店除了負責自身盈虧以外,大多也只需支付總部商標權利金,或共同分擔總部的營運費用,罕有利潤分配的問題,類似於產業商會或批發商/零售商的關係。

 自願加盟特許加盟委託加盟合作加盟
店面、裝潢支出加盟店加盟店總部加盟店
營業設備支出加盟店總部總部加盟店
人事成本支出加盟店加盟店加盟店加盟店
總部經營指導
行銷活動統籌加盟店總部總部總部
加盟金給付方式定期定額一次性一次性一次性
通常分潤模式不抽成抽成比例固定抽成比例隨營業額浮動不抽成
自主空間
加盟自負成本

律師小提醒:

不少人會把英文Voluntary Chain(自由連鎖)翻譯為自願加盟,但Voluntary Chain其實與本文所稱的自願加盟不太一樣。Voluntary Chain(自由連鎖)是歐美國家中小企業常見的聯購分銷模式,指多家同業店鋪聯合起來共同向上游進貨,概念上更接近於我們所謂的合作加盟。


加盟開店需要哪些支出?

以下整理了加盟開店能需要的支出,從簽約到經營,方便有意願加盟的業者們逐項評估。

  • 加盟金:支付給總部,用以換取經營指導和品牌授權。
    • 權利金
    • 開店準備金
    • 教育訓練費
    • 廣告支出
  • 店面租金:視加盟型態不同,總部和加盟店也會有不一樣的租金分配方式。
  • 裝潢工程:指一般店面皆需的基礎設施,如水電線路、地板、油漆等。
  • 設備器具:指具有品牌特色的生財工具,如指定規格的商品層架、冷凍櫃、櫃台、招牌、生產儀器等。
  • 商品原物料、耗材
  • 員工薪資
  • 水電能源支出

加盟開店要先知道哪些事?

《公平會加盟處理原則》中,特別列舉了7大重要條件,要求總部必須事先告知有興趣加盟的業者,讓加盟店業者在簽署合約時能夠有充分的資訊來做出正確的評估和判斷。

()總部必須提供的7大關鍵資訊

以下事項在《公平會加盟處理原則》中都有明文列舉,為求謹慎,通常也會將之納入加盟合約條款。

1.開始營運前的支出項目

如加盟金、教育訓練費、商品/原物料/耗材費用、設備費用或租金、裝潢工程支出等。

2.加盟期間的支出項目

如權利金的計收方式,及經營指導和行銷推廣支出、商品/原物料/耗材費用等。

3.智慧財產授權條件

包括權利名稱、使用範圍、期限與其他限制條件。

4.經營指導與教育訓練

經營協助及訓練指導的內容與方式。

5.營業市場區隔

指加盟店所在營業區域設置同一加盟體系的經營方案或預定計畫。

6.加盟期間的經營條件與限制

例如:

  • 商品或原物料的指定購買通路、品牌、規格、最低購買數量、價格等。
  • 資本設備的指定購買通路與規格。
  • 裝潢工程的指定施工業者與規格。

7.加盟契約變更、終止及解除之條件及處理方式。

()資訊提供方法

總部可以透過紙本、電子郵件、電子儲存裝置、社群媒體或通訊軟體等方式將以上7項資訊提供給加盟店。

需注意,如果這部分發生爭議,舉證責任將落在總部身上,總部需要證明自己確實有提供資訊的行為。


加盟合約怎麼寫?注意3大問題

每一家連鎖體系的加盟條件都不相同,因此加盟合約的內容往往必須根據個案需求來客製,尤其需要特別留意削價競爭、競業禁止、與續約條件3大問題。

()如何處理加盟店削價競爭?

事業總部往往不希望加盟店互相削價競爭而破壞市場行情,經常在加盟合約中註明「商品銷售價格不得低於總部建議售價」等條款,然而這種條款若操作不當,就容易誤觸法律雷區。

1.加盟合約約定建議售價有效嗎?

如果加盟合約中定有建議售價,需注意建議售價的性質是否具有強制力。

  • 軟性建議售價

軟性建議售價真的純屬建議,僅供加盟店參考,是合乎法律規定的。

  • 硬性建議售價

如果建議售價條款附有違約罰則,規定加盟店不遵守時便需賠款或需接受總部的處罰,這種建議售價就具有強制力,容易被認定為「以不正當理由限制轉售價格」,而使事業總部受到公平會的裁罰。

2.加盟店削價競爭合法嗎?

《公平交易法》第20條規定「事業不得以低價利誘或其他不正當方法,阻礙競爭者參與或從事競爭之行為」。在判斷違法削價競爭時,主要會考量加盟店的市佔率是否足以對市場競爭產生影響、進貨成本多少、低價銷售的時間長短、有無正當理由等因素,因此期間限定的1元特惠(時間太短),或即期品出清的跳樓大拍賣(有正當理由)一般都不至於構成違法削價競爭。

3.總部如何防止加盟店削價競爭?

如果希望避免限制轉售價格的問題,常見的做法是改為「代銷」模式,或者總部僅提供原物料,再由加盟店自行製作成品。

代銷模式中,總部保留商品所有權,加盟店只是代替總部銷售,就不屬於「轉售」。但代銷模式也有缺點,因為銷售名義人是總部,所以相關商品瑕疵或交易糾紛的責任也都由總部承擔,此外,並不是合約上註明代銷就直接受到法律承認,最終仍需以公平會的實質判斷為準。

除代銷以外,總部也可以只供應原物料,再由加盟店依總部指導的製程來製作出成品。此時的成品和原物料已不再是同一個商品,自然也沒有轉售問題,但採用此種方式容易導致每個加盟店製作出的商品品質不一致,影響品牌口碑。

()能否約定加盟結束後競業禁止?

總部在指導加盟店的過程中,難免需要向加盟店揭露營業秘密與Knowhow,為了防止加盟店未來利用這些知識、技術反過來和總部競爭,許多加盟合約中含有競業禁止的特約條款,禁止加盟店業者在加盟合約結束後,在店鋪原址另創品牌,繼續經營相同性質的生意。

關於加盟合約的競業禁止條款有無效力,法院有明確的審查標準,有效的加盟競業禁止條款需符合以下4項條件:

  • 總部需有依競業禁止特約保護的營業祕密存在。
  • 加盟店需因職務知悉上開營業秘密。
  • 限制加盟店繼續經營類似業務之對象、期間、區域、職業活動之範圍,需不逾越合理之範疇(亦需考量加盟店轉業有無困難)。
  • 需有代償措施來填補加盟者因競業禁止所受損害。

若不符合以上條件,則加盟合約中的競業禁止條款很可能淪為「無效」,加盟店大可不遵守該部分的條款,並容易引發其他爭議。

()如何評估加盟合約的續約條件?

目前法律並未強制規定加盟合約一定要寫出續約條件。以總部的立場,往往希望保留同意續約與否的權利,藉此篩選營業狀況不符期待的加盟店,但對加盟店而言,若總部不同意續約,則業者當初投入的心血恐怕難以在短短一兩年的加盟時間內回本。

1. 由誰決定要不要續約加盟?

續約不是單方面的權利。有些加盟合約雖註記「經雙方同意得提前續約」,但這樣其實不夠完整,因為如果總部堅持不同意,加盟店也可能訴諸法律途徑,主張總部權利濫用。為減少爭議,不少加盟合約會改為約定「續約門檻」,只要加盟店的營業表現達到門檻,加盟主就不得任意拒絕加盟店的續約請求,藉此達到雙向的保障。

2. 加盟續約條款怎麼寫?

加盟續約時,是否比照前約的條件、總部有無保留條件異動的權利、加盟店是否需重新繳交加盟金、續約請求需提前多久提出等事宜,都建議事先討論清楚,在合約中註明。

3. 總部可以故意不續約嗎?

少數品牌總部見加盟店業績表現突出,就選擇惡意不予續約,收回店鋪改設直營分店。這種行為可能令總部構成《民法》第148條規定的「權利濫用」,若品牌體系在市場上具有壓倒性地位,達到獨占事業的標準時,總部惡意不續約還可能構成《公平交易法》第9條的「濫用市場地位」。

獨占事業的簡易判斷標準:

  • 1家事業市占率達1/2,且上一會計年度總銷售金額達主管機關之公告標準。
  • 2家事業合計市占率達2/3,其中個別事業市占率達1/10,且上一會計年度總銷售金額達主管機關之公告標準。
  • 3家事業合計市占率達3/4,其中個別事業市占率達1/10,且上一會計年度總銷售金額達主管機關之公告標準。

需要代為撰寫、審閱加盟契約嗎?如有加盟創業相關法律問題,歡迎加入第一法律官方LINE和我們一起討論!

加入好友
即刻聯絡

遇到法律問題別擔心,歡迎透過官方LINE和我們線上討論,我們樂意傾聽您的想法,在您有需要時提供您最快速有效的協助。

加入好友

請放心,線上詢問完全免費,所有對話內容與傳遞的資料都將受到嚴格保密。

熱門文章
回到頂端